Planning & Development

Commissions & Committees

Planning Commission

The Planning Commission consists of nine citizen members and meets monthly. It advises the City Council on development applications such as rezoning and street vacations. The Commission has final authority in approval of plats, special use permits, and variances. It also serves as the Responsible Governmental Unit (RGU) for environmental reviews. 

Community Development Committee

The Community Development Committee is the advisory group of citizens that assists with reviewing community development strategies by providing direct citizen input into the planning and prioritization process. 

Indigenous Commission

The Indigenous Commission was established by the City Council to ensure that the views of the American Indian community are incorporated in the decision making, future planning, and stewardship of the city of Duluth.

Heritage Preservation Commission

The Heritage Preservation Commission (HPC) designates historic resources and makes decisions on construction/demolition permits for historic properties. 

Duluth Legacy Endowment Fund Advisory Board

The Duluth Legacy Endowment Fund Advisory Board accepts requests for distribution of the earnings of the Duluth Legacy Endowment Fund, evaluates which requests will best benefit the community and fulfill a public purpose, and approves and recommends specific distributions.

Heading Home St. Louis County Governance Board

The role of the Heading Home St. Louis County Governance Board is to implement Heading Home St. Louis County’s 10 Year Plan to End Homelessness, and to prepare for the implementation of the HEARTH Act. 

Joint Airport Zoning Board

Administers special zoning regulations within the hazard area surrounding the Duluth International Airport.