Engineering
THE CITY OF DULUTH, MINNESOTA

Engineering


"Engineers apply the principles of science and mathematics to develop economical solutions to technical problems. Their work is the link between scientific discoveries and the commercial applications that meet societal and consumer needs.

Civil engineers design, build, supervise, operate, and maintain construction projects and systems in the public and private sector, including roads, buildings, airports, tunnels, dams, bridges, and systems for water supply and sewage treatment. Many civil engineers work in design, construction, research, and education." - U.S. Department of Labor

The city of Duluth public works & utilities department- engineering division, is comprised of three sections: city engineering, transportation engineering, and utility engineering. Each section is managed by a chief engineer with a staff of project engineers, engineering specialists, engineering technicians, GIS technicians, information technicians, and/or operational personnel.

City Engineer

The City Engineer plans, develops, and manages the engineering division in the design, construction, inspection, and repair of municipal public assets.  Duties include, but are not limited to, the following: developing the division budget, managing the engineering fleet, acting as liaison with state agencies to allocate state and federal funds, ensuring compliance, supervising office functions, assisting with new software systems, supervising permitting procedures, providing leadership for large projects, responding to petitions and discussing improvements, providing information to city administration, directing the construction bidding process, reviewing project workmanship and directing final acceptance/payment, assisting with problem solving, representing the division at meetings, assisting with policy & procedures, and managing personnel administration.  

Transportation

The transportation section is responsible for large-scale roadway projects in Duluth.  This section oversees the inspection, construction, and replacement of streets, alleys, bridges, sidewalks, and traffic signals, as well as addresses traffic concerns.  It is the responsibility of the Chief Engineer of Transportation to plan, develop, and manage the transportation engineering division related to city-governed transportation and infrastructure. 

Utilities

The utilities section is responsible for all major gas, water, sanitary sewer, and storm water projects.  Utilities also manages the design, inspection, installation, and replacement of the utility infrastructure to comply with state and federal regulations.  This section also reviews new utility petitions for main extensions, provides location of underground utility mains, and inspects, replaces, and constructs all sewer, water and gas mains.  It is the responsibility of the Chief Engineer of Utilities to plan, develop, and manage the Utility Engineering division for city-owned utilities.

 

Staff Directory

 

Anderson, Shane Engineering Technician  scanderson@duluthmn.gov  218-730-5096
Bangs, Chauncey Senior Engineering Specialist cbangs@duluthmn.gov 218-730-5106
Bergstrom, Bill Senior Engineering Specialist bbergstrom@duluthmn.gov 218-730-5078
Billings, Peggy Engineering Technician pbillings@duluthmn.gov 218-730-5068
Carlson, Bruce Senior Engineering Technician bcarlson@duluthmn.gov 218-730-5108
Carlson, Todd Water Quality Specialist tcarlson@duluthmn.gov 218-730-4051
Chapin, Russ Senior Engineering Technician rchapin@duluthmn.gov 218-730-5083
Eastman, Shawn Engineering Technician seastman@duluthmn.gov 218-730-5069
Erickson, Taryn Project Engineer tjerickson@duluthmn.gov 218-730-5087
Hegg, Scott Engineering Technician shegg@duluthmn.gov 218-730-5077
Herbert, Angie Information Technician aherbert@duluthmn.gov 218-730-5081
Horn, Jeanne Information Technician jhorn@duluthmn.gov 218-730-5067
Hunter, Blaine Engineering Technician bhunter@duluthmn.gov 218-730-5079
Isackson, Jeff Engineering Technician jisackson@duluthmn.gov 218-730-5074
Johnson, Tom Senior Engineer tajohnson@duluthmn.gov 218-730-5103
Kratochwill, Dave Engineering Technician dkratochwill@duluthmn.gov 218-730-5073
Lavine, Nate Senior Engineering Technician nlavine@duluthmn.gov 218-730-5111
Leeper, Joe Engineering Technician jleeper@duluthmn.gov 218-730-5099
Loomis, Patrick Project Engineer ploomis@duluthmn.gov 218-730-5094
Majchrzak, Kristin Senior Engineering Technician kmajchrzak@duluthmn.gov 218-730-5086
Maruska, Jon Engineering Technician jmaruska@duluthmn.gov 218-730-5093
MrDutt, Jim Senior Engineering Technician jmrdutt@duluthmn.gov 218-730-5088
Olivarez, Andy GIS Technician aoliveraz@duluthmn.gov 218-730-5082
Pedersen, Cari Chief Engineer of Transportation cpedersen@duluthmn.gov 218-730-5091
Pfeffer, Tom Senior Engineer tpfeffer@duluthmn.gov 218-730-5104
Sanders, Tim Project Engineer tsanders@duluthmn.gov 218-730-5066
Schwensohn, Duncan Senior Engineer dschwensohn@duluthmn.gov 218-730-5107
Scott, Brian Engineering Technician bscott@duluthmn.gov 218-730-5098
Shaffer, Eric Chief Engineer of Utilities eshaffer@duluthmn.gov 218-730-5072
Smith, Howard Senior Engineer hsmith@duluthmn.gov 218-730-5092
Strid, Glenn Project Coordinator gstrid@duluthmn.gov 218-730-5116
Thiry, Marty Senior Engineering Technician (GIS) mthiry@duluthmn.gov 218-730-5102
Thorstad, Mick GIS Specialist mthorstad@duluthmn.gov 218-730-5075
Tyykila, Scott Senior Engineering Technician styykila@duluthmn.gov 218-730-5079
Voigt, Cindy City Engineer cvoigt@duluthmn.gov 218-730-5071
Webster, Perry Utility Operations Leadworker pwebster@duluthmn.gov 218-730-5079
Wictor, Paul Engineering Technician pwictor@duluthmn.gov 218-730-5085
Willie, Randy Senior Engineering Technician rwillie@duluthmn.gov 218-730-5101

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

City of Duluth Public Works & Utilities Department, Engineering Division
City Hall, Room 211
411 West First Street
Duluth, MN 55802
(218) 730-5200

[  CONTACT  ]

Emergency Numbers:

24-hour gas emergency number: (218)730-4100

24-hour general emergency number (use for sanitary sewer, stormwater, streets, and furnace problems): (218)730-4000

 

City of Duluth, 411 West First Street, Duluth, Minnesota 55802
©2017 City of Duluth, Minnesota. All Rights Reserved | Disclaimers | Contact the City | Sitemap
Follow the City of Duluth City Facebook Page City's Twitter Feed City Youtube Channel