## **Duluth Public Arts Commission**

### **MINUTES for 7.15.24**

#### **Call to Order and Roll Call**

Meeting started at 4:09PM

Commissioners: Scottie Gardonio, Carly Jandl, Kelli Hallsten Erickson, Amanda McElray Hunter, Christina Woods, Amy Demmer, Lee Cutler, Tammy Underwood, Shari Marshik

Present: Scottie Gardonio, Amy Demmer, Kelli Hallsten Erickson, Tammy Underwood, Amanda McElray Hunter

Absent: Carly Jandl, Christina Woods, Lee Cutler, Shari Marshik

Staff: Tricia Hobbs, Angie Stier

• Public Comment

## **Approval of Minutes**

June Regular Meeting Minutes

Gardonio made a motion to approve June meeting minutes with a second by Hallsten Erickson.

Х	Gardonio	Jandl	Hallsten	McElray	Woods	Demmer	Underwood	Marshik	Cutler
			Erickson	Hunter					
	Х		Χ	Х		Х	X		

#### **Discussion Items**

- Guest Speaker James Gittemeier, Senior Transportation Planner
  - Provided overview of the W. Superior Street updates relating to opportunities for public art inclusion.
  - For August agenda, craft letter containing request to send to engineering with the artist display recommendations within amenity/planting spaces from the commission.

- Tourism Tax Application discussion
  - Program Committee ideas for inclusion: Out Loud Art program, Art to the Rescue Program, Conservation Work.
  - Call for applications has not been announced. Board is focusing on projects that have the highest impact to the tourism industry.
- Indigenous Commission signage project update
  - DPAC Staff will be meeting to Indigenous Commission staff on feasibility for signage to include artwork.
- Utility Box Wrap Event
  - Sam's box on Grand and 57<sup>th</sup>. Scottie will be creating a map to include all utility box wrap locations to distribute.
  - Action: Tammy will take lead on the event
  - Action: Staff will connect with the communications team

### **Action Items**

- Review and approval of Harrison Community Center Mural
  - Underwood made a motion to approve of Harrison Community
    Center Mural with a second by McElray Hunter.

Χ	Gardonio	Jandl	Hallsten	McElray	Woods	Demmer	Underwood	Marshik	Cutler
			Erickson	Hunter					
	Χ		Х	Χ		Χ	Χ		

# **Adjournment**

Motion to adjourn Underwood, second by Hunter. The meeting adjourned at 5:39pm.