# BYLAWS OF THE ENERGY PLAN COMMISSION

### ARTICLE I Establishment of the Commission

The City Council established the Energy Plan Commission, hereby referred to as the "Commission", by Ordinance 10614 to advise the administration and city council on ways to achieve the goal of reducing the city's greenhouse gas emissions by 80 percent by 2050.

#### ARTICLE II MEMBERSHIP

Section 1. <u>Number and Appointment</u>. The Commission shall consist of seven (7) members. Original appointment terms will vary from one year to four years. All subsequent vacancies shall serve four-year terms. Members are eligible to reapply for subsequent terms.

Section 2. <u>Vacancies/Attendance</u>. Vacancies shall be filled by appointment by the Mayor subject to confirmation of the City Council. If any member fails to attend two scheduled meetings in a rolling twelve-month period without prior notice of such absence to the Chair, the member may be deemed by the Chair to have voluntarily resigned, and the term of said member may be deemed vacant. The Chair may grant a waiver to the attendance requirement.

Section 3. <u>Resignation</u>. A member may resign at any time by delivering a written or emailed resignation to the City's Energy Team, as designated by the Chief Administrative Officer (CAO), with a copy delivered to the Chair.

## ARTICLE III OFFICERS AND DUTIES

Section 1. <u>Election of Officers</u>. At the Commission's first meeting of the year, the members shall elect from among its members a Chair and Vice Chair.

Section 2. <u>Terms of Office</u>. The Chair and Vice Chair of the Commission shall hold office for one (1) year or until successors are chosen.

Section 3. <u>Chair</u>. The Chair shall preside at all meetings of the Commission. The Chair may vote on all matters transacted by the Commission. Duluth's Energy Team, as designated by the Chief Administrative Officer (CAO), shall prepare the agenda for the meetings of the Commission with input from the Chair. All members may propose to the Chair and Energy Team items for inclusion on the Commission's agenda. With an affirmative vote of three (3) or more members of the Commission, an item will be placed for consideration on the Commission's next regular or special agenda.

Section 4. <u>Vice Chair</u>. The Vice Chair shall perform the duties of the Chair whenever, for any reason, the duly elected Chair cannot perform.

### ARTICLE IV MEETINGS OF THE COMMISSION

Section 1. Regular Meetings. At its first meeting of the year, the commission shall determine the schedule and number of regular meetings for the next 12 months.

Section 2. <u>Special Meetings</u>. Special meetings may be called by the Chair or by a minimum of three members of the Commission for the purpose of transacting any business designated in the meeting notice. Duluth's Energy Team, as designated by the CAO, shall notify members by email at least three (3) days prior to the special meeting of the date, time, place and purpose of the special meeting.

Section 3. <u>Committees</u>. The Commission may create permanent standing committees or specific project-based committees to further its enumerated purposes, powers and duties. The Chair may appoint non-voting, ex-officio members to any committee.

Section 4. <u>Open Meeting Law</u>. All meetings of the Commission shall be posted and conducted in accordance with the requirements of the Minnesota Open Meeting Law.

Section 5. <u>Quorum</u>. The presence at any meeting of a majority of the voting members actually appointed and serving at the time of the meeting shall constitute a quorum for the transaction of business.

Section 6. <u>Voting</u>. All elections and motions shall be decided by a majority vote of those members physically present.

Section 7. <u>Conducting Meetings</u>. Unless otherwise specifically designated by these Bylaws or other special rules of procedures adopted by the Commission, Roberts Rules of Order, as most recently revised, shall govern the conduct of the meetings of the Commission. Members of the public will be welcome to address the commission at regular meetings. Public comments will be limited to three minutes per speaker.

Section 8. Order of Business.

- A. Call to Order
- B. Roll Call
- C. Approval of Minutes
- D. Approval of Agenda
- E. Public Comment
- F. New Business
- G. Old Business
- H. Future Agenda Topics
- I. Adjournment

#### ARTICLE V

#### **BYLAW AMENDMENTS**

Section 1. <u>Amendments</u>. The Commission may amend these bylaws at any regular meeting by a two-thirds vote, provided the proposed amendment was presented and read at the previous regular meeting.

THESE BYLAWS WERE ADOPTED ON, BY RESOLUTION OF THE DULUTH ENERGY COMMISSION ON THIS 6TH DAY OF JUNE, 2020, AND SUPERSEDE ANY AND ALL BYLAWS PREVIOUSLY ESTABLISHED.