Instructions for Form SDE

Who can apply?

A non-Minnesota contractor can apply for
an exemption if your contract exceeds or
is expected to exceed $50,000 or multiple
contracts have exceeded $50,000 cumula-
tive per calendar year for work done in
Minnesota.

Before you start

You must have a Minnesota tax ID number
from the Department of Revenue to request
this exemption.

If you don’t have one, you must apply for
one. Go to our website at www.taxes.state.
mn.us and click “Register for a Minnesota
tax ID number” on the e-services menu.
If you do not have Internet access, call
Registration Services at 651-282-5225 or
1-800-657-3605.

How to apply

To apply for an exemption from Minnesota
surety deposits, file Form SDE before the
project is started.

Mail this form and any required attach-
ments to the address on the front.

If you’re approved

If we approve the exemption, we’ll sign the
bottom of this form and return it to you.
Make a copy for your records and give the
original to the business for whom you are
doing the work.

If you’re not approved

If we determine you're not eligible for ex-
emption, 8 percent of each payment made
to you must be withheld by the business for
whom you are doing the work and depos-
ited with the Department of Revenue.

To apply for a refund, complete Form SDR,
Refund of Surety Deposits for Non-Minnesota
Contractors. When the project is complete,
and we determine that you have complied
with Minnesota income, withholding and
sales tax laws, you'll receive a refund plus
interest at the current rate required by law.

Use of information
All information on this form is required
except for your phone number.

Allinformation is private by state law. It
cannot be given to others without your
permission, except to the Internal Revenue
Service, other states that guarantee the same
privacy, the contract owner or bonding
company, and certain government agencies
as provided by law.

Information and

assistance

If you need help or additional information
to fill out this form, call 651-282-9999 or
1-800-657-3594. TTY: Call 711 for Minne-
sota Relay.

A fact sheet on surety deposit require-
ments (Fact Sheet 12) is also available upon
request.

We'll provide information in another
format upon request to persons with dis-
abilities.
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Please type or print clearly. This will be your mailing label for returning the form to you.
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Mail to: Minnesota Revenue, Mail Station 6501, St. Paul, MN 551.46-6501

4 N
Department of Revenue Approval
The above-named out-of-state contractor is exempt from the surety requirements of Minnesota Statute 290.9705 for this
project.
Department of Revenue approval Date
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Withholding Fact Sheet 12

This fact sheet explains the Minnesota law requiring surety
deposits for many non-Minnesota construction contractors
(M.S. 290.9705). If you need more information, call the
phone number at the bottom of this page.

There must be 8 percent (.08) Minnesota withholding on pay-
ments made to non-Minnesota construction contractors once
cumulative payments made to the contractor for work done in
Minnesota exceed $50,000 in a calendar year. The 8 percent pay-
ment is deposited with the Minnesota Department of Revenue
to ensure the contractor’s obligations to the State of Minnesota
are met for withholding, sales and use, franchise and income
taxes.

Contractors are eligible for an exemption if any one of the fol-
lowing applies:

1. The construction contractor gives the department a bond for
8 percent of the contract secured by an insurance company
licensed in Minnesota. This is to guarantee that the construc-
tion contractor will comply with Minnesota law regarding
withholding, sales and use, franchise and income taxes.

2. The construction contractor gives the department a cash
surety. A cash surety is evidence of a savings account, deposit,
or certificate of deposit in, or issued by, a state bank, national
bank, or savings and loan association doing business in
Minnesota. Interest and dividends earned on the principal
amount may be retained by the contractor.

3. The construction contractor has a payment and performance
bond required by government agencies.

4, The construction contractor has done construction work in
Minnesota during the past three calendar years and has fully
complied with Minnesota law regarding withholding, sales
and use, franchise and income taxes.

Construction contractors can apply for an exemption from Min-
nesota surety deposit requirements by filing Form SDE, Exerp-
tion from Surety Deposits for Non-Minnesota Contractors.

If the contractor is not exempt, whoever hires the construction
contractor is required to withhold the surety deposit from each
payment made to the contractor. Form SDD, Surety Deposits for
Non-Minnesota Contractors, is used to make the surety deposit.

The department will hold the surety deposits until the construc-
tion contractor’s state tax obligations are considered fulfilled.
The construction contractor can apply for a refund after the
project is completed using Form SDR, Refund of Surety Deposits
for Non-Minnesota Contractors. The department will refund,
with interest, any amounts held as surety.

In addition, non-Minnesota construction contractors who are
carrying on a trade or business as a sole proprietor and who
work in Minnesota, are required to have 2 percent withheld
from payments of $600 or more. See Fact Sheet 18 for more
information.

Non-Minnesota construction contractors doing work for Min-
nesota subdivisions (counties, cities, school districts, etc.) must
file Form IC134, Withholding Affidavit for Contractors, in addi-

tion to complying with this surety provision.

Information and assistance

Forms, fact sheets and the withholding instruction booklet are
available on our website at www.taxes state.mn.us. If you don’t
have Internet access or have questions about your withholding
responsibilities, call our office at the number below.

Withholding Tax Division, Mail Station 6501, St. Paul, MN 55146-6501
Phone: 651-282-9999 or 1-800-657-3594 (outside the MN metro area)
Minnesota Relay 711 (17Y)

E-mail: withholding.tax@state.mn.us

Revised 9/10

This fact sheet is intended to help you become more familiar with Minnesota
tax laws and your rights and responsibilities under the laws. Nothing in this
fact sheet supersedes, alters, or otherwise changes any provisions of the tax law,
administrative rules, court decisions or revenue notices. Alternative formats
available upon request.

Minnesota Revenue, Surety Deposits for non-Minnesota Construction Contractors
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Business entity or Minnesota government unit making deposit
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Send this amount to the address below. Make check payable to Minnesota Revenue.

Mail to: Minnesota Revenue, Mail Station 6501, St. Paul, MN 55146-6501.

Instructions for Form SDD

If you're a person, cooperative, business or government unit that has
hired a non-Minnesota contractor to perform construction work

in Minnesota and the project is over or expected to go over $50,000
(cumulative per calendar year) you must withhold 8 percent of

each payment made to the contractor unless they have received an
exemption.

Use Form SDD to make the deposits with the Minnesota
Department of Revenue. Notify the contractor of the date and
amount of the deposit because the contractor will need that
information when requesting a refund.

(Rev. 11/07)

Information and assistance
If you have questions or need help completing this form, call (651)
282-9999 or 1-800-657-3594, TTY: Call 711 for Minnesota Relay.

We'll provide information in an alternative format upon request to
persons with disabilities.



